News · AAA Award Winners Announced for 2018-19

After a great deal of deliberation the selection committee made up of teachers, counselors, coaches and advisors has selected the following winners to represent Eastview High School in the region and state level competition.

Congratulations to seniors Anna Schumann and Ryan McClure for being named Eastview High School’s nominees for the MSHSL AAA Award in 2018-19.  Anna’s highlights include being ranked #1 in her class with a 4.0 GPA, a two sport captain in Cross Country and Nordic Ski and arts participation in band and choir throughout her high school career.  Ryan’s highlights include a 3.997 GPA and being a National Merit Commended Scholar, a two time captain and two time All-Conference Selection in Alpine Ski and 2nd chair trumpet in the All-State Orchestra and first chair trumpet in EVHS Wind Ensemble and Jazz 1 since sophomore year along with being a section leader in the Marching Band. Both Anna and Ryan will represent Eastview extremely well!

Established in 1988, the Academics, Arts, and Athletics Award (Triple “A” Award) is sponsored by the Minnesota State High School League. The award is to recognize and honor high school seniors who have excelled in the classroom, on the athletic field, and in the fine arts.  To be eligible for the Academics, Arts, and Athletics Award at Eastview High School a student must be a high school senior, have a strong academic background, have participated in League-sponsored athletics and fine arts activities and comply with the MSHSL’s Student Code of Conduct and be nominated by a staff member.  Triple “A” Award recipients are selected by a multi-level process involving the League’s member schools and administrative regions. League officials will announce the four state award recipients (a girl and a boy from both a Class “A” and Class “AA” school) at an on-court recognition ceremony in March 2019. Each state award recipient will receive a four-year $1,000 scholarship.